Back to Club News

Celebrating a Movement at This Year’s Surf Lifesaving WA Awards of Excellence

On Saturday the 1st of July, SLSWA hosted their annual awards at the Crown Grand Ballrooms. On the night there was an emphasis on recognising the hard work and commitment of thousands of volunteers dedicated to the surf lifesaving movement throughout the season.
Representing 31 clubs around Western Australia, more than 460 members, corporate and government partners, and guests attended the night. Trigg Island SLSC had 28 members, Directors of the Board, and Staff attend to represent on the night, with them swapping out their beach attire and uniform for dresses, suits, and ties.

To start the night, there was a Welcome to Country Ceremony, acknowledging the lands on which we were celebrating upon, as well as opening speeches from SLSWA Chief Patron, His Excellency, the Honourable Chris Dawson AC APM, Governor of Western Australia, and departing SLSWA President Craig Smith-Gander, both of whom recognised the efforts of the 24,000 volunteers throughout the season protecting the public on WA beaches throughout spring and summer.

Across the 20 award categories, Trigg Island SLSC had strong representation with 20 finalists recognised across the areas of Volunteering, Surf Sports, Nippers, and Lifesaving.
Trigg was also a finalist for the coveted Lavan Club of the Year, which was awarded to Swanbourne-Nedlands SLSC after they had a steady growth in membership and their most successful year within the surf sports area.

Trigg Island Director of Nippers Kevin Duguid was awarded this year’s Woodside Nipper Coordinator of the Year. Recognising the work he’s done for multiple years as the coordinator within the program and his efforts to transition the Under 13 members to the youth age groups. He also works closely with the Age Managers to ensure the Nippers are engaged and have a good understanding of what the Youth Program will offer them and provides additional teamwork and leadership opportunities to assist with the transition.

Competitor Jake Smith was recognised as this year’s Athlete of the Year, after having a successful season including three individual gold Australian Pool Rescue Medals in the Open Rescue Medley, 100-metre Manikin Tow, and the 50-meter Manikin Carry, setting Australian records in all three along the way. He was also a pivotal player in the Trigg Island Relay Teams, contributing to their three gold medal victories and establishing Australian records in the process. His exceptional talent and dedication led to his selection as a member of the Australian team to compete at the World Lifesaving Championships in Italy, where he won two individual and three team gold medals, solidifying his status as a true champion.

Congratulations to all our nominees, to be recognised as a finalist is a huge achievement and one that everyone should be proud of.
Both Kevin and Jake will go on to represent WA at this year’s Surf Lifesaving Australia Awards, held on the 4th of November in Sydney, we wish them both the best of luck!

Trigg Island Surf Life Saving Club acknowledges the traditional owners, the Whadjuk People of the Noongar Nation, of the beach on which we work and play. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and are grateful for their continuing connection to the land, sea and sky.