Back to Club News

Trigg Island SLSC Awards Night 2023

On Saturday the 20th of May, Trigg Island SLSC hosted their Annual Awards of Excellence, giving members the opportunity to swap bathers and sunscreen, for dresses and suits.
An annual event, looked forward to by many, it was a time to celebrate one another, the club’s successes, and the support received from our sponsors and stakeholders, throughout the 2022/2023 season. The club rooms were transformed, with the red carpet rolled out, the photo wall set up, and the tables decked with glistening centerpieces.
Adam Yeo Mc’d the night, with speeches and presentations made by multiple dignitaries from within the club, and within the community.
We’d like to make a very heartfelt thank you, to the below special guests, who attended the night:

– Cr Tony Krsticevic – City of Stirling Coastal Ward Councillor
– Ray & Jody Kershgaw – Mondo Exclusive Homes
– Travis Burton – Mortgage Choice
– Vice Patron Karen Caddy & Steve Caddy
– Ann Dunstan – Trigg Art Club with Robert Dunstan
– Jenni Wilke & Ross Daniels representing Karrinyup Rotary

To begin the presentations Trigg Island SLSC recognized our Australian Medallists at this year’s Aussies, hosted at Trigg Beach and Scarborough Beach, and also last year’s Australian Pool Rescue Championships. Each medallist was presented with their medals framed and Gold Caps.

Congratulations to the following Gold Medallist athletes for this recognition:

Jake Smith:
Open Male 100m Manikin Tow with Fins
Open Male 50m Manikin Carry
Open Male 100m Rescue Medley – Australian Record

Harrison Hynes:
Open Male 100m Manikin Carry with Fins – Australian Record
Open Male 50m Swim with Fins – Australian Record

Kelton Rothnie:
U19 Male 50m Swim with Fins

Phoebe Ashworth:
U19 Female 50m Swim with Fins

Harrison Hynes, Kelton Rothnie, Callan Smith, Jake Smith:
Open Male 4 x 50m Obstacle Relay
Open Male 4 x 25m Manikin Relay – Australian Record
Open Male 4 x 50m Medley Relay – Australian Record

Oliver Browne:
U13 Male Surf Race
U13 Male 2km Ocean Swim

Oliver Browne, Billy Hawkes, Chris Jiang, Tadhg Smith:
U13/14 Male Surf Teams

Under 23 Mixed March Past Team
Danielle Bordin, Samantha Brigden, Arielle Butler, Marley Johansson, Georgia Moar, Olivia Moar, Zoe Moore, Annika Negus, Femke Negus, Indiah Reidy, Olivia Shiels & Paige Stegmann.

We’d also like to congratulate all silver & bronze medal-winning athletes who were also presented with their medals framed:


Kelton Rothnie:
Under 19 Male 50m Manikin Carry
Under 19 Male 100m Manikin Carry with Fins
Under 19 Male 100 Rescue Medley

Phoebe Ashworth:
Under 19 Female 100m Manikin Carry with Fins

Billy Hawkes:
Under 13 Surf Race

Tadhg Smith:
Under 14 Male Surf Race

Lauren Ware:
Under 19 Female Short Board Riding


Callan Smith:

Open Male 200m Obstacle

Jake Smith:
Open Male 200m Super Lifesaver

Phoebe Ashworth:
Under 19 Female 100m Rescue Medley

Eleanor Flowers:
Under 14 Female 100m Manikin Tow with Fins
Under 14 Female 50m Swim with Fins
Under 15 Female 2km Ocean Swim

Femke Negus:
Under 19 Female 2km Beach Run

Macy Boisvert:
Under 14 Female Beach Sprint

Billy Hawkes:
Under 13 Male Beach Flags

Elyn Bawden and Milly Kok
Under 14/15 Female Board Rescue

After all, medalists were recognized, and we moved on to the Master’s medallists recognition. Congratulations to the following Masters athletes who were recognised on the night for their performances this season:


Dan Humble:
35–39-years Male Single Ski

Tim Carr:
40-49 years Male Short Board Riding

Luke Upfold:
50-59 years Male Short Board Riding
50-59 years Male Malibu Long Board

Cas Ryan:
55-59 years Female Single Ski

Michael Cook
75 yrs and over 2km Ocean Swim
75 yrs and over Male Surf Race

Tamsin Durey & Natalie Hawkes:
45-49 years Female Board Rescue

Rochelle McKee, Kate Mosel & Lauren Robertson:
110 yrs min Female Board Relay
110 yrs min Female Surf Teams
110 yrs min Female Taplin Relay


Kate Mosel:
40-44 years Female Board Race
40-44 years Ironwoman

Tim Carr:
40-44 years Male Beach Sprint

Natalie Hawkes:
41-50 years Female Surf Race

Bradley Headling:
45-49 years Male 2km Ocean Swim
45-49 years Ironman

Mark Mulvay:
50-59 years Male Short Board Riding

Rochelle McKee & Lauren Robertson:
35-39 years Female Double Ski

Bradley Headling & Luke Upfold:
45-49 years Male Board Rescue

Michael Boisvert, Tim Carr, Ed Negus & Luciano Sabatino:
200 yrs min Male Beach Relay


Rochelle McKee:
35-39 years Female Single Ski

Dianne Doick:
50-54 years Female 2km Beach Run

Luke Upfold:
50-54 years Male 2km Ocean Swim

Deane Pieters:
50-54 years Male Surf Race

Andrew Jay:
60-64 years Male Board Race

Kate Mosel & Meghann Tysoe:
40-44 years Female Double Ski

Rochelle McKee, Kate Mosel & Cas Ryan:
130 yrs min Female Single Ski Relay

Chelsea Boisvert, Tamsin Durey & Natalie Hawkes:
130 yrs min Female Surf Teams

Kimberlee Radford, Cas Ryan & Jenny Taylor:
yrs min Female Surf Teams

After all, medalists were recognized, the club moved on to the big awards of the night. Recognizing Best Club Person in each age group, as well as awards presented across multiple areas within the club; Lifesaving, Education and
Below are the awards and their winners presented on the night:

Female Youth Athlete of the Year: Femke Negus

Male Youth Athlete of the Year: Benjamin Toms

Female Athlete of the Year: Jazmin Shipway-Carr

Male Athlete of the Year: Jake Smith

Trainer of the Year: Peter Taylor

Assessor of the Year: Grant Rosman

Youth Lifesaver of the Year: Peyton Maguire

Patrol Captain of the Year: Lauren Jolliffe

Life Members Rising Star Award: Macy Boisvert

Annette Greenhill Award: Lucas Walker

U14 Best Club Person: Indiah Reidy

U15 Best Club Person: Eleanor Flowers

U17 Best Club Person: Tom Boisvert & Nicole Radford

U19 Best Club Person: Alessandra Gillmore

Karrinyup Rotary “Service Above Self” Award: Sarah Moar

Open Best Club Person: Micheal Boisvert

Congratulations to everyone who was awarded and recognized.
It was a beautiful and successful night. Thank you to all who attended, to our special guest, and a very special thank you to Nicky Parsons and Bronwyn Meldrum for the time they took to organize and set up the day, as well as Tony Moore for being the night’s photographer.
Until next year!

Trigg Island Surf Life Saving Club acknowledges the traditional owners, the Whadjuk People of the Noongar Nation, of the beach on which we work and play. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and are grateful for their continuing connection to the land, sea and sky.